In The Beginning

Hello ladies and gents.  Welcome to my new dog blog in which I share all of the wonderful adventures and quirks of my forever pup, Rufus.  I also plan on writing about our various fosters once we make the big move from the ‘burbs of Chicago to the Twin Cities at the end of July.  Yes, this month.  Yikes!

I won’t bore you with too many details, because you can read all about me and my dog lovin’ ways in the “Story Of Us” section.  However, I will say that I’ve been dabbling in blogging and dog blogging for awhile.  In fact, I used to post about my foster dogs on another blog with another rescue (a rescue I adore and will miss greatly).  If I’m feeling saucy, I may just share some old entries about those wonderful fosters from my past that lead me here.  You’ll just have to wait and see.  Ok, I will definitely be sharing those posts.  Sorry for spoiling the surprise.

For now, I leave you with a few pictures of Rufus and his first (to our knowledge) swim in the training ponds:

One kind of awesome observation: when we play fetch with Rufus on land, he will run after the ball but then refuses to bring it back.  In fact, he loves to play “keep away.”  However, when we threw a stick into the water, he calmly fetched it, brought it back, and dropped it at our feet.  It was so….natural.  And awesome to see him take to the water so well.  Ah, dogs.  What wonderful creatures.

2 thoughts on “In The Beginning

  1. Funny– our foster Stevie Wonder is 100% the opposite. She fetches balls like a champ, but with sticks she just can’t seem to let go. She REALLY wants us to chase her while she proudly prances with the stick in her mouth. Cutie.

Leave a Reply

