Mine.

There is no question that Rufus is my dog.

Sure, he loves Alex a whole lot, and his dogsitter/my favorite co-worker?  He’s a big fan.

However, I’m his “one”, and he is absolutely mine.

Rufus isn’t the type of dog that smothers you with affection- he does a happy dance and even gives the occasional and reluctant lick when we arrive home from work, but he is not constantly seeking out attention from his humans.

Oh, hey mom. How’s it going all the way over there? Love ya.

Rufus shows his love and admiration with a very subtle loyalty to me.  If I’m sitting on the computer, he can be found under my feet or laying behind me on his our bed.

If we are watching television, he will sometimes curl up beside me, but he often prefers his own little space a seat away. While I’m cooking or baking, Mr. Rufus will lay just a tad out of the way on the rug next to the back door.  He will randomly get up to search for scraps, but he tries his hardest not to be a burden.

In short- wherever I am, there he is.

The other interesting thing about Rufus?  He absolutely has two personalities – one indoor, and one outdoor.  Indoors, he can be reserved, lazy, and even grumpy.  He seems to be more weary of new people, so we try our hardest to have most of our intros happen in his natural element. He will engage in play, but it doesn’t usually last long.  But outdoors?  He’s such a freakin’ dog, and I love it!

He swims, he rolls in the grass, he play bows with the best of them, and he really loves to hunt (:sigh:…as a vegetarian, this is very disheartening, but then I remember he’s a dog).  His tongue is always waggin’, and he’s just so happy to be happy.  He has become my constant outdoor companion, and we have so much fun hiking and swimming and sweating (wait, that’s just me) and just being together.

While I would like to continue fostering, what I want most is a second forever pooch.  Even though Rufus does have some great dog friends, I know it’s going to be a very hard task to find his furry companion.  As his best friend, I am up for the challenge.  As much as he adds to my general well being and happiness, the least I can do is return the favor.  And with our big move in the works, some consistency will do him good…(what? we’re moving?  To be continued…)

How about we just “borrow” Macy for awhile?

4 thoughts on “Mine.

  1. YAY! Moving! 😀 I won’t spoil your secret. 🙂

    I totally know what you mean — Elli’s my shadow. I’ve wanted a second dog since I adopted Elli, because, really, two IS better than one; but the more I think about it, the more I don’t want to lose my amazing friendship with Ellibelle. She’s my one. And I’m hers. How could I change something so good? That doesn’t stop me from browsing Petfinder every other week, though, haha.

  2. I’m so glad you commented on my blog so that I could read your blog! I don’t think I had seen it before. Rufus sounds so much like Cabana in this post. She’s definitely “my dog”, too, slightly aloof, definitely not the needy type, very different indoors than outdoors. We also like to foster. I’d love a second permanent dog someday, but we also enjoy the flexibility of having only one. Fostering is a nice way to get the benefits of both.

    It would have been so fun to meet you and Rufus in Portland. Maybe on our next visit there? We loved it so much that we have to go again!

    • Aw, thanks so much! I do see a lot of similarities between Rufus and Cabana as well. And we love the area so far, but are so far away from all of our families and friends, so visits and meet-ups are always a welcome possibility!

Leave a Reply

