Heartbreaking

A few years ago, I picked up “Stay” by Allie Larkin simply because on the cover, there was a photo of the cutest shepherd I’d ever seen.

stay-cover-photo

After reading the back and realizing it was a love story between a girl and her dog (and so much more), I took it home and finished it in two sittings.  It’s a wonderful story and I highly recommend it to my fellow dog lovers.

Today she posted this (click): that Argo, her beloved shepherd, was diagnosed with terminal cancer a few weeks ago.  They know their time is limited and will be soaking in every bellyrub, sudden burst of puppy energy and all of that amazing dog magic canine companionship brings while he is still with him.

Reading through the post, this except has stuck with me:

“Argo is my crash course in unconditional love. He’s made it safer for me to love and trust in love. I’ve reached so much further because no matter where I went or what I did — if I failed or succeeded or fell somewhere in between — Argo would greet me at the door and love me just the same. I’m a better person because we’ve belonged to each other. I just wish we had more time.”

Dogs are only with us for a short time.  It’s a relationship I cannot compare to anything else – it is so natural and easy, and I am so grateful to share my life with the animals that will pass through my life. It’s so hard to say goodbye, but it’s so very worth it to have that amazing bond with these wonderful creatures.

18 thoughts on “Heartbreaking

    • I am honored to have you reply to my little blog post 🙂 I follow your blog, and yes, I am very familiar with the gorgeousness that is your Argo. I am so sorry for this trying time in your life but I know you will make the most of it. You are inspiring as well as Sir Argo 🙂 Thinking of you.

  1. Allie captured so perfectly not only the love, oh yes the sweet love, but also the last days when we are so split between trying to enjoy every moment all the while listening for every breath. Perfectly, wonderfully told. Thank you for sharing, and obviously I will now Amazon prime this book!

  2. After reading The Art of Racing in the Rain, I don’t know if I can take the emotion that comes with reading Stay, but I will give it a try. So sorry that Allie has come to this time in her life with Argo. My thoughts are with her.

  3. I’ll have to check out that book, I love good dog books. My dogs are only a little over a year old, but I remember when they were little puppies and I sometimes can’t help but to think of them being old one day and then not even here at all and I can’t even imagine it. It is a cruel joke to humanity that they are with us so short:(

  4. I’ll have to look at this! I’ve been reading dog books up the wazoo lately. (As if dogs don’t consume every other aspect of my life.) Sounds like a good one! I just finished The Dogs Who Found Me which I loved.

  5. Thanks for the book suggestion… and thanks for visiting my blog. Just about one year ago, my heart dog, K, was diagnosed with terminal cancer. She lived for 7 more months, glorious and love-filled months before we let her go. So, I have some idea how Argo’s human is feeling right now. Such deep love is why we feel such profound grief when our beloved dogs depart.

    • I adore your blog and the way you write about your animals. Even though I didn’t stumble upon your blog until after K’s passing, I can tell how strong your bond was simply by the way you continue to mention her in all of your growing experiences with your new pup.

  6. Very sad news for sure. No matter how much time we have with our friends, it’s never enough. It takes courage to love a dog, I think. To let one into your heart knowing your life with him won’t last forever. My thoughts go out to her and Argo. I hope they create many more wonderful memories in the short time they have left together.

    I haven’t read this book but will put it on my list right away.

Leave a Reply

