Hattie’s Story: Meet Our New Foster!

Meet Hattie, formerly known as “Sandy.”

photo 3-2

Obligatory awkward first day photo

Hattie is our newest foster pup! I didn’t want to write about her pending arrival until everything was set simply because there were so many factors in getting her here.

Hattie traveled all the way from San Antonio, TX to get to us. By bus! Yeah, she’s basically a rock star.

Like many southern areas, San Antonio has a stray dog epidemic. And in Portland? We treat our dogs like royalty, so of course these rescues want to do everything in their power to get as many dogs as they can into wonderful homes, no matter what the distance may be. Talking to the rescue workers broke my heart. Even though I never thought I’d agree to foster a dog without meeting him/her first, something about her photos and the rescue’s efforts spoke to me. So, here we are.

photo 2-2

We picked her up in a parking lot yesterday morning and she’s been a peach. I mean…for as young as she’s estimated to be, she’s a wonderful girl.

We have very little information on this lady. She was picked up as a strayΒ  at a mere 5 months old. Hattie is listed as a lab/beagle mix, but who knows? I see some beagle tendencies and she’s certainly a little blondie, but I also see cattle dog, shepherd, husky, etc. Since the streets are riddled with strays, it’s very likely that the list could go on and on. Whatever she is, she couldn’t be cuter.

photo 1-3

Estimated to be about 6-8 months old, Hattie is also a puppy! What? I am sooooo not a puppy person, but when I thought about bringing a strange dog into my home, I knew a younger female would be the least stressful for Rufus. And boy was I right! Hattie has no problem letting Rufus tell her where her place is. In fact, she’s totally in love with him. I mean…how could you not be? He’s such a dreamboat.

image

And the 24-hour update? So far, so good. Rufus gave her a little attitude yesterday but this morning, they were playing so well at the park. Rolling around, playing bite-y face and just having a good time. Now they’re both pooped – sleeping on opposite sides of my feet. Of course she has a lot more energy than he does, so he’s so over it by 3pm but she’s learning to give him space, which is awesome. It’s been such a great first day, I feel like it’s too good to be true. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

I couldn’t be more proud of Rufus. It’s been two years since we’ve fostered and he eased into it like a pro. With the right preparation and taking his personality into consideration, we nailed it. I’m so glad we finally took the plunge!

And I bet Hattie is pretty glad, too.

photo-1

12 thoughts on “Hattie’s Story: Meet Our New Foster!

  1. Keeping my fingers crossed that all goes well. Are you sure she’s a sister and not a grilfriend? Hmmmmmmmm?????!!!!!!!

  2. Awesome! Congrats on the new foster! She is so adorable and spunky-looking. And they seem very relaxed together! Looking forward to hearing (and seeing) more!

  3. Awesome!!! Kudos to you for making sure the foster would be a good fit first and foremost for Rufus. And seriously, could they be any cuter?!

Leave a Reply

