About a Dog | Getting to know Ru

rufusnoblebeast4515

It’s been awhile since I’ve shared some personal tidbits about my bff. Everything about Rufus – his quirks, likes, and dislikes –  kind of fascinate me to no end. Here’s a quick little profile on my dude.

Name Origin

Found as a stray, we’re not sure what his original name was. However, the shelter had him listed as “Brindle Boy” online. I spent the week before his arrival dreaming up a bunch of names I would call him. When he finally arrived, his hound face and “complicated” personality made it clear that he was born to be a “Rufus.”

Age

We estimate that he’s about 7 years old  and we celebrate his birthday and adopt-iversary in October.

Breed

Again, we’re not 100% sure on this. I usually just say that he’s a hound mix. I suspect he has some plott hound, beagle, and maybe even some basset in him. I also hear that he’s built like a lab, so I guess that’s a possibility as well. Whatever he is, it’s working for him!

Likes

Long walks, muddy hikes, car rides, eating grass, belly rubs, lazy Sundays, chasing squirrels and cats, and sleeping on all the beds and couches!

Dislikes

Nail clippers, feeling trapped, going out in the rain alone (but it’s totally cool when mom accompanies him! Misery loves company, right?)

Behavioral “Quirks”

Rufus is incredibly vocal. I don’t mean that he barks a lot, but he actually growls for every emotion! It’s honestly the most ridiculous quirk ever. He growls when he’s happy, sad, scared, nervous, and you know..when he’s not happy. I’ll have to get it on video someday to show you the many growls of Rufus.

Rufus also happens to be on the skittish side with new people. He takes a very long time to trust people, and he’s only ever truly loved a handful of our friends and family that have taken the time to be slow with him and all happen to be very good with dogs. Even though his issues can be exhausting and hard to work with, he has made progress in the time he’s been with us. Even if he’s never perfect, he’s perfect to me.

Favorite Foods

Peanut butter, broccoli stems, apples, Honest Kitchen, pumpkin, and anything and everything in stinky treat form.

Energy Level

In this regard, Rufus is absolutely perfect! If the weather isn’t cooperating or if I happen to be busy or fighting a bug, he will not hesitate to sleep the day away. On the flip side, his regular schedule consists of long walks, weekly hikes, training, and even the occasional play session with a neighborhood dog. While I prefer an active pup, it’s also really nice to have one that can just chill like it’s his job.

Favorite Tricks

Rufus knows quite a few basic party tricks: sit, shake, down, stay, wait,  “say please” (similar to “sit pretty”), “show me your belly”, “go to your place” (crate), spin, stand up, “take a bow”, etc. However, I think the thing about him that impresses me the most is his ability to read me so well. Because we’re so bonded, Rufus is incredibly intuitive and his behavior often reflects the way I’m feeling – it’s scary how on point he is!

Where He’s Been

Rufus is a road trip pro! Not only has he travelled across the country and hotel-hopped with us when we moved from Chicago to Portland, he’s also been to Seattle, the Oregon coast, and Mt. Hood a few times since our move.

My Favorite Memory

Whenever you have a fearful or challenging dog, the best moments are the ones in which you see your best friend truly happy and relaxed. I adore seeing Rufus play with other dogs! Whenever he finds a dog he really likes, he turns into a puppy again. However, nothing can top the rare moments in which Rufus allows another human into his life. Seeing him light up when one of his favorite people shows up just destroys me in the best way possible.

12 thoughts on “About a Dog | Getting to know Ru

  1. It’s so nice to have a chill dog! Ruby is as high-energy as you’d expect from a Border Jack, but my island girl Boca is completely laid back and just as happy to lounge around as she is to go for an outing. Ruby also loves broccoli stems 🙂 It was fun to read all of this about Rufus!

    • I just checked out your blog – your pups are absolutely gorgeous! Also, isn’t it kind of nice to have that crazy/chill balance between your two pups? I always joke that if we got a second dog, it would actually be like getting a first dog as Rufus is more of a friend/roommate haha!

      • Thank you! I just adore them. There is no way I could handle another Ruby, so Boca was the perfect calming element to my household. She was supposed to be a foster but she dug herself right in to my heart. I love the roomate analogy!

  2. What a handsome boy! We have a rescue dog like that where all we know for sure is that her name was Mia, because she answered to it. She’s pretty clearly a German shepherd, but where she came from and what she was doing before we found her is a mystery. We celebrate her “Birthday (observed)” on the day we got her. This year it will be her 11th (we think) and the 4-year anniversary of bringing her home.

Leave a Reply

