Surprise! I’m a good boy!

Rufus really likes to surprise me. I mean he really, really loves to prove me wrong. And sometimes, I’m totally cool with that.

Yesterday we went to visit my friend and her boyfriend on their gorgeous farm. I’ve been friends with Erin since elementary school in Illinois and somehow both of us ended up in the beautiful state of Oregon. We’re still really close and we also both really adore our dogs. Like, crazy dog lady status.

IMG_5482

Who else takes close-up photos of their dog’s glorious jowls?

Since we’ve lived out here, Rufus has become really close with Erin and she’s even watched him a few times for us. However, she has lived with her boyfriend for awhile now and Ru has never had the opportunity to meet him. And since we have a vacation planned and poor Ru won’t be able to go with, we finally had to suck it up and get these two dudes together.

Some behavioral history on Rufus: he’s iffy with new people, especially men. Sometimes he can be completely cool with strangers right away and other times he embarrasses the crap out of me. I mean…he’s a complicated guy and I just never know which Rufus I’m going to be bringing to a situation. Yep, it’s SUPER fun….

But guess what? He was a freaking all-star yesterday and liked Matt right away. No barking, no weirdo low growling, and he basically just kept his cool. Of course I set him up for success: lots of positive reinforcement for good behavior, taking a really beautiful long walk with everyone around their farm (which is his favorite thing EVER!!), etc. And the most important factor: he saw that both Erin and I (and Moose, his dog friend) enjoyed Matt’s company, which means the world to him. Mom’s cool with this guy? Ok, I’ll let him live. Of course I’m being dramatic, but you get the point.

Rufus and Erin's Moose after a crazy romp at the beach.

Rufus and Erin’s pup, Moose, after a long romp at the beach.

If any of you out there have weary dogs, do you experience the same thing? I find it so fascinating that he really does seem to just intuitively feel how I feel around certain people. Of course this doesn’t work every single time, but I’m always so thankful when it does. If there was every any doubt, he is absolutely my soul pup.

My little mood ring.

We cool?

We cool?

8 thoughts on “Surprise! I’m a good boy!

  1. I love his jowls and want to eat them! Love that he trusted you guys and went the flow! Sounds like Matt is a keeper with a stamp of approval from the tough guy!

  2. Ruby is absolutely this way about people coming in the house. If I know them, even if she’s never met them before, she will greet them excitedly with a wagging tail. Strangers to me (contractors, etc.) and she is in fierce, defensive mode.

    • Yes! Rufus is very on-guard when it comes to strangers/workers (especially men), more so than at any other time. He knows who is mama loves and who she is wary of, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

