Life, Loss & Coping with Tragedy

FullSizeRender

After just a few short weeks back in Oregon, I found myself traveling back home to Illinois again last week.

This isn’t really the place where I share too much of the hardships I’ve been through, but when something this life-changing happens, it’s hard not to.

IMG_7625

I lost my dad. It was completely unexpected and I’m left confused and heartbroken. For anyone who has been reading this blog for any amount of time, I’m sure you’ve read my tiny blurbs about my mother. She was my best friend and the woman who shaped me into the crazy animal lover I am today. I lost her at the age of 18 and it completely shifted my direction in life.

My parents were absolutely soulmates. They were together from the ages of 14 and 16 until the day she passed. It crushed my dad in so many ways to lose the love of his life.

My parents were absolutely soulmates. They were together from the ages of 14 and 16 until the day she passed. It crushed my dad in so many ways to lose the love of his life.

It’s been hard to cope with losing my dad but I’m just taking it one day at a time – the only way I know how to keep on moving forward. I am so grateful that I got to see him when I was home in July and that my last memories of him are happy ones.

That’s all I really want to touch on here. I just wanted to say something so that you didn’t think I’d fallen off the planet. I promise that future posts will be filled with happy puppy faces and hopefully some foster dog news in the semi-near future.

My happy place right now. He's helping me cope with this so much more than he'll ever know.

My happy place right now. He’s helping me cope with this so much more than he’ll ever know.

Take care of each other.

9 thoughts on “Life, Loss & Coping with Tragedy

  1. Sorry is never enough. But know that you can just be you, and if life is lame, you can rest that on us. That picture of your parents may trump any photo I have of my own parents! And I’m glad Rufus can carry you for a bit, that is what love does. Sending big, tight, hugs.

  2. Oh, Vanessa, how heartbreaking. I am so sorry to hear it. I hope you may be comforted by your joyful memories of your dad in the weeks and months to come.

  3. I am so sorry for your loss. Enjoy some extra snuggles with Rufus and know that there are lots of us out there thinking of you while you grieve.

  4. Sometimes it’s not just happy puppy faces you share with friends sometimes it’s tears , we lost a lot this summer , old Cissy then BonBon then Esther Pester goat all happened this summer , it’s hard whether with or without paws,take care

Leave a Reply

